top of page


In 1983, Buell Motorcycles was founded

Screen Shot 2021-02-11 at 10.05.56
RW750 first buell .jpg

In 1987 Rockville, MD became the worlds first Buell dealership.


In 1998, after 20,000+ motorcycles had been manufactured since the start of Buell®, Erik Buell sold Harley-Davidson 49% of Buell® motorcycles.

In 2007, the 1125R was manufactured with a new V-Twin motor with liquid cooling, DOHC, and fuel injection.

In 2014, the EBR 1190SX (Naked Bike) was revealed. The SX also features the East Troy V-Twin Motor, as does the RS & RX.


The 2017 model Black Lightning is created and released under limited production.

In 1984, the first Buell Motorcycle was built. With the help of Erik, Buell created the RW750, a full-fledged grand prix motorcycle for racing only in the AMA Formula 1 race class. However, the class was eliminated, and only 2 were ever produced.

From 1985 through 1992, along with running a race parts business and doing consulting engineering for companies such as Schwinn and Yamaha, Erik built a range of street sport motorcycles using Harley-Davidson® engines. The success of this led to Harley-Davidson® purchasing in 1993 a minority interest of Buell® Motorcycle Company.

In 2002, the XBR9 Firebolt was manufactured. It was the first bike with aluminum beam fuel in frame chassis, and perimeter brake rotor. The XB chassis and motor derivatives grew to a substantial business of nearly 90,000 units.

In 2009, Buell won their first championship at AMA Daytona Sportbike class with rider Danny Eslick.

Beginning in 2010, Erik Buell Racing was formed, first supplying race parts for Buell® motorcycles, then in 2011 into production with the 1190RS, a  factory super premium street/race-bike.

2021 Buell is back in production with an exciting array of motorcycles in development. 

Screen Shot 2021-02-11 at 10.13.54

In 2016, EBR Motorcycles was formed to continue the legacy of Erik Buell.

buell 1190hcr edit .jpg

2020 Buell develops their first dirt bike in collaboration with the Cipala race team and wins the AMA Hillclimb National Championship.

bottom of page